The Rock Stars of Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area

Soaking Maxine

One of the most popular volunteer positions - and visitor attractions - at Red Rock Canyon is the Desert Tortoise Habitat, home of the nine resident Rock Stars. The habitat, established in 1995, has provided education and entertainment to well over a million visitors.

Friends of Red Rock Canyon provides the funding to support the “Kids” in the habitat, ranging from the blue booties to the delicious and nutritious Tort Chow. We also pay for annual medical exams to keep the kids healthy.

The kids are fed on Wednesday and Saturday mornings and enjoy Spa Day on Monday. We’d suggest you come as close to 8 a.m. if you’d like to watch the kids enjoy breakfast or spa treatment. They tend to head back into their burrows early to avoid the summer heat. What is Spa Day? Each tort has a designated soaking bin that we fill with a few inches of water. The biweekly soaking helps keep the torts hydrated plus they really seem to enjoy it.

Upcoming feeding and spa schedule

Day Date Task
Saturday April 29 Feeding day for all torts
Monday May 1 Soaking Hugo
Wednesday May 3 Feeding day for all torts
Saturday May 6 Feeding day for all torts
Monday May 8 Soaking Max and the girls
Wednesday May 10 Feeding day for all torts
Saturday May 13 Feeding day for all torts
Monday May 15 Soaking Hugo
Wednesday May 17 Feeding day for all torts
Saturday May 20 Feeding day for all torts
Monday May 22 Soaking Max and the girls
Wednesday May 24 Feeding day for all torts
Saturday May 27 Feeding day for all torts
Monday May 29 Soaking Hugo
Wednesday May 31 Feeding day for all torts
Saturday June 3 Feeding day for all torts
Monday June 5 Soaking Max and the girls
Wednesday June 7 Feeding day for all torts
Saturday June 10 Feeding day for all torts
Monday June 12 Soaking Hugo
Wednesday June 14 Feeding day for all torts
Saturday June 17 Feeding day for all torts
Monday June 19 Soaking Max and the girls
Wednesday June 21 Feeding day for all torts
Saturday June 24 Feeding day for all torts
Monday June 26 Soaking Hugo
Wednesday June 28 Feeding day for all torts
Saturday July 1 Feeding day for all torts