The Rock Stars of Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area

Soaking Maxine

One of the most popular volunteer positions - and visitor attractions - at Red Rock Canyon is the Desert Tortoise Habitat, home of the nine resident Rock Stars. The habitat, established in 1995, has provided education and entertainment to well over a million visitors.

Friends of Red Rock Canyon provides the funding to support the “Kids” in the habitat, ranging from the blue booties to the delicious and nutritious Tort Chow. We also pay for annual medical exams to keep the kids healthy.

The kids are fed on Wednesday and Saturday mornings and enjoy Spa Day on Monday. We’d suggest you come as close to 8 a.m. if you’d like to watch the kids enjoy breakfast or spa treatment. They tend to head back into their burrows early to avoid the summer heat. What is Spa Day? Each tort has a designated soaking bin that we fill with a few inches of water. The biweekly soaking helps keep the torts hydrated plus they really seem to enjoy it.

Upcoming feeding and spa schedule

Day Date Task
Saturday July 01, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Monday July 03, 2017 Soaking Max and the girls
Wednesday July 05, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Saturday July 08, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Monday July 10, 2017 Soaking Hugo
Wednesday July 12, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Saturday July 15, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Monday July 17, 2017 Soaking Max and the girls
Wednesday July 19, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Saturday July 22, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Monday July 24, 2017 Soaking Hugo
Wednesday July 26, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Saturday July 29, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Monday July 31, 2017 Soaking Max and the girls
Wednesday August 02, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Saturday August 05, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Monday August 07, 2017 Soaking Hugo
Wednesday August 09, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Saturday August 12, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Monday August 14, 2017 Soaking Max and the girls
Wednesday August 16, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Saturday August 19, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Monday August 21, 2017 Soaking Hugo
Wednesday August 23, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Saturday August 26, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Monday August 28, 2017 Soaking Max and the girls
Wednesday August 30, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Saturday September 02, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Monday September 04, 2017 Soaking Hugo
Wednesday September 06, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Saturday September 09, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Monday September 11, 2017 Soaking Max and the girls
Wednesday September 13, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Saturday September 16, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Monday September 18, 2017 Soaking Hugo
Wednesday September 20, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Saturday September 23, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Monday September 25, 2017 Soaking Max and the girls
Wednesday September 27, 2017 Feeding day for all torts
Saturday September 30, 2017 Feeding day for all torts